Problems with loading scenarios and maps in map editor in version 159011

ImageNeed any help? Do you have a problem? Ask us! We will help you!
Locked
User avatar
Bogdan
Posts: 149
Joined: 25 Feb 2017, 17:26
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine
Been thanked: 3 times

Problems with loading scenarios and maps in map editor in version 159011

Post by Bogdan »

Hello Mona,

After last update (in version 159011) in map editor very often I see empty list when I try to open scenario or map:
Spoiler
Bug.jpg
Bug.jpg (1.23 MiB) Viewed 498 times
It also happens in 'Mission properties' when I try opening .ies file
More frequent when I minimize the game and go back in. Restart helps (sometimes).
Also, Advanced Cached Preloading is on. When I turn it off, the problem seems to be gone

User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8658
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 102 times

Re: Problems with loading scenarios and maps in map editor in version 159011

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

Hi. The same issue was answered in this topic:
[Bug] Custom maps not loading with cache preloading

Dr.MonaLisa wrote: 01 Dec 2022, 13:14 Hi jormaig.

I'm aware of this problem. It usually fixes itself after using ALT+TAB, or ALT+ENTER (switching between the fullscreen and the windowed mode). Sometimes need to do this multiple times. It also affects the other boxes, like selecting a saved game, selecting a playback file to watch, etc.

This is one of the very mysterious issues and I think it will never be fixed. It's probably related to the higher memory usage of the game process, which obviously can't be reduced with the Advanced Cache Preloading (since it was created especially to fill up RAM to reduce mini-lags). So sadly ACP will most likely remain BETA for long, if not forever.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
User avatar
Bogdan
Posts: 149
Joined: 25 Feb 2017, 17:26
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Problems with loading scenarios and maps in map editor in version 159011

Post by Bogdan »

Understood, thanks!
User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8658
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 102 times

Re: Problems with loading scenarios and maps in map editor in version 159011

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

No problem. Please let me know if you find some easier method to "fix" this bug while the game is running (like ALT+ENTER?). Maybe I will be able to "workaround" it by simulating some user input behavior instead of "fixing" it (which seems impossible).
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8658
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 102 times

Re: Problems with loading scenarios and maps in map editor in version 159011

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

Bogdan, could you please check if this bug can be fixed on your computer when you take a screenshot in game (Prt Scn) while you can't see anything on the list?
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
User avatar
Bogdan
Posts: 149
Joined: 25 Feb 2017, 17:26
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Problems with loading scenarios and maps in map editor in version 159011

Post by Bogdan »

Hello Mona, sorry for long time to answer. No, unfortunately Prt Scn doesn't change anything.
Also, I tried ALT+ENTER and ALT+TAB multiple times, but it doesn't fix it for me either.
Only restart helps
User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8658
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 102 times

Re: Problems with loading scenarios and maps in map editor in version 159011

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

Yeah, I noticed that when my game loaded 2GB+ of RAM, even with ACP disabled, the same bug occurred. So it's related to high RAM usage, not this feature. Strange problem, because everything else works and the game is not crashing.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8658
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 102 times

Re: Problems with loading scenarios and maps in map editor in version 159011

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

Hi Bogdan. The issue has been fixed. Please read this topic for more information: viewtopic.php?p=28005#p28005

I would appreciate the feedback in that other topic, to be sure that it's working fine now.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
Locked

Return to “Help, Questions & Problems. Empire Earth II Support.”