[SOLVED] Change mouse commands on other programs when EE2 is running.

ImageNeed any help? Do you have a problem? Ask us! We will help you!
Post Reply
User avatar
IndieRock00
Posts: 15
Joined: 16 Jun 2019, 17:38

[SOLVED] Change mouse commands on other programs when EE2 is running.

Post by IndieRock00 »

Hello to all

I found a problem / malfunction of my mouse in the CAD program "SolidWorks 2018 SP5.0" and also in the CAM program "SURFCAM 2014 r2".
The problem is that when I press the mouse wheel to rotate 3D on the drawn objects, instead of rotating they move and makes the program difficult to use, in some cases unusable.

Everything happens only when EE2 is started on my PC. if I close EE2 the problem disappears.
I read that there are incompatibilities from Windows 8+ especially due to the "Synaptics Touchpad" drivers but I don't think they are directly concerned as they concern the Touchpad and my problem is with the traditional mouse.

Is it possible that EE2 uses something to manage 3D visualizations during the game and that it also affects other running programs?
Last edited by IndieRock00 on 02 Feb 2020, 11:52, edited 1 time in total.
Long life and prosperity. 🖖


User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 7646
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland

Re: Change mouse commands on other programs when EE2 is running.

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

It sounds like the "Middle Mouse Button Actions"? There is a checkbox for it in UP1.5 Settings.

More to read at the BLOG: https://www.ee2.eu/blog/014-unofficial-patch-157.php

Please check if disabling it solves your issue. I can't attach a screenshot at the moment, but it should be easy to find.

If works, it might be good to add an additional check for this function, if EE2 window is currently active, as I have done it with Eye Tracker function.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains

User avatar
IndieRock00
Posts: 15
Joined: 16 Jun 2019, 17:38

Re: Change mouse commands on other programs when EE2 is running.

Post by IndieRock00 »

I have disabled the function that enables pressing the button in the middle and now everything works correctly. Thank you!
Long life and prosperity. 🖖

User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 7646
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland

Re: [SOLVED] Change mouse commands on other programs when EE2 is running.

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

Thank you for confirmation, Indie.
I managed to compile the new Launcher version, where Middle Mouse Button Actions work only when EE2 window is active. Could you please test how it works?
I can't do this now, as I don't have a mouse with me, only laptop touchpad.

Please download this file and extract to your EE2 folder:
157031_MiddleMouseButtonTest.zip
(9.49 MiB) Downloaded 4 times
After that, please make sure, that Middle Mouse Button Actions are enabled (checked) in UP1.5 Settings.

Then test if Middle Mouse Button works in EE2 (for buildings rotation, camera rotation, etc.).

Then minimize game, and test if your other programs don't get interrupted by it.

Thank you.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains

User avatar
IndieRock00
Posts: 15
Joined: 16 Jun 2019, 17:38

Re: [SOLVED] Change mouse commands on other programs when EE2 is running.

Post by IndieRock00 »

With your fix Everything works properly.
The camera rotates as if I pressed CTRL and my programs work correctly while EE2 is minimized.
Long life and prosperity. 🖖

User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 7646
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland

Re: [SOLVED] Change mouse commands on other programs when EE2 is running.

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

Thank you for confirming it.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains

User avatar
IndieRock00
Posts: 15
Joined: 16 Jun 2019, 17:38

Re: [SOLVED] Change mouse commands on other programs when EE2 is running.

Post by IndieRock00 »

Thank you for fast help.
Long life and prosperity. 🖖

Post Reply

Return to “Help, Questions & Problems. Empire Earth II Support.”