Trying to mod in a new unit

Modding, Map Editor, IES Scripting and Other Questions
crazyewok
Posts: 22
Joined: 03 Mar 2014, 11:23

Re: Trying to mod in a new unit

Post by crazyewok »

Leader wrote:Hmmm... Good luck, I hope you won't have problems with adding everything.
By the way, did you test the other EE2 mods, like Realistic Mod? http://ee.heavengames.com/downloads/showfile.php?fileid=2925
or EE4 mod? http://ee4-eng.do.am/

They have a lot of new units, a lot of planes and everything.
You can install this version of UP1.5 on the mod: http://forum.ee2.eu/t1731-development-diary-ee2-ee2x-unofficial-patch-15-a-version-of-up15-for-modders to support all screen resolutions.
Looking at the realism mod it may serve as a better base as many units are already added in.

Might remove a few and just add engineer with pillboxes in.

Problem is all these mods have to me good and bad points. Want to get a mod optimised to my and my LAN friends play style.

crazyewok
Posts: 22
Joined: 03 Mar 2014, 11:23

Re: Trying to mod in a new unit

Post by crazyewok »

Ok I worked out how to add units.

Now I want to add to the realism mod pillboxes and barb wire ect.

I have added the engineer unit, that was easy.

What I need to know now is what files control who builds what?

Right now the the engineer just builds normal buildings like a Citizen and I want to change it so so they build there own unique line of defence structures?
User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8715
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 109 times

Re: Trying to mod in a new unit

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

You decide who and what builds in dbtechtreenod5.csv file.
I think engineer is somehow connected with Citizen. I would recommend to add a new unit, for example Engineer3 (Copy the unit type and model from Engineer2). Then in dbtechtreenod5.csv set what building should he built. You'll see example by units which I added to that file.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
crazyewok
Posts: 22
Joined: 03 Mar 2014, 11:23

Re: Trying to mod in a new unit

Post by crazyewok »

Thanks.

2 hopefully last questions:

1) What file links textures to units?

2) Were are the Icons for in game build buttons?

After that I "think" I have figured it out.
User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8715
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 109 times

Re: Trying to mod in a new unit

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

1) What file links textures to units?
For example in: ee2x_unofficial_patch_15_units.ddf

UnitModel BlaBlaBla
{
DefaultModel = Blablabla.nif
}

Where Blablabla.nif is a texture (model).
2) Were are the Icons for in game build buttons?
Pictures are somehow hardcoded, but they're defined in file: zips\dbsprite_unitIcons_packed.csv (ZIPS FOR EE2: AOS TOO, not zips_ee2x - if we're using Unofficial patch 1.5).

If you have any other question, or if you have a problem with something that I already explained - feel free to ask.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
crazyewok
Posts: 22
Joined: 03 Mar 2014, 11:23

Re: Trying to mod in a new unit

Post by crazyewok »

Leader wrote:
1) What file links textures to units?
2) Were are the Icons for in game build buttons?
Pictures are somehow hardcoded, but they're defined in file: zips\dbsprite_unitIcons_packed.csv (ZIPS FOR EE2: AOS TOO, not zips_ee2x - if we're using Unofficial patch 1.5).
Ok if they are hard coded how did the other modds change them so that there new units had new ingame icons?
User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8715
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 109 times

Re: Trying to mod in a new unit

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

crazyewok wrote: Ok if they are hard coded how did the other modds change them so that there new units had new ingame icons?
The icons are .tga files, however in EE2 files you won't find .tga (it's converted to .textcache if I remember good). But you can paste new .tga icons to "textures_150" folder in the zips folder (not zips_ee2x). The game will read them. You should check how it's done in the zips\dbsprite_unitIcons_packed.csv file.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
crazyewok
Posts: 22
Joined: 03 Mar 2014, 11:23

Re: Trying to mod in a new unit

Post by crazyewok »

Ok another think is adding menus.

I have noticed you can add new build menus on construction and production buildings how do you do that?
User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8715
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 109 times

Re: Trying to mod in a new unit

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

db_150.zip\db\UI\dbuiunitaction5.csv
for example:

Code: Select all

//UnofficialPatch1.5,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
unit_action_build_more,,icon_unitact_buildCivilian,TwoStateRollover,,0,3,3,3,3,tt_unitact_buildMore,vtt_unitact_buildMore,Citizens,0,0,"""UIUnitButtons_SetMenu 3""",,""""""
I added "repair" button to the fire truck by editing file: dbunittypeattributes.ddf
and:

Code: Select all

//UP1.5:
UnitTypeAttribute BldRepair2 {
   UnitTypeFamilies = [
      Firetruck
   ]
}

Then in dbuiunitaction5.csv:

Code: Select all

unit_action_buildRepair2,,icon_unitact_buildRepair,TwoStateRollover,,0,1,1,3,3,tt_unitact_buildRepair,vtt_unitact_buildRepair,BldRepair2,0,1,"""UIUnitCommand_BuildRepair""",,""""""
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
crazyewok
Posts: 22
Joined: 03 Mar 2014, 11:23

Re: Trying to mod in a new unit

Post by crazyewok »

Leader wrote:db_150.zip\db\UI\dbuiunitaction5.csv
for example:

Code: Select all

//UnofficialPatch1.5,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
unit_action_build_more,,icon_unitact_buildCivilian,TwoStateRollover,,0,3,3,3,3,tt_unitact_buildMore,vtt_unitact_buildMore,Citizens,0,0,"""UIUnitButtons_SetMenu 3""",,""""""
I added "repair" button to the fire truck by editing file: dbunittypeattributes.ddf
and:

Code: Select all

//UP1.5:
UnitTypeAttribute BldRepair2 {
 UnitTypeFamilies = [
 Firetruck
 ]
}

Then in dbuiunitaction5.csv:

Code: Select all

unit_action_buildRepair2,,icon_unitact_buildRepair,TwoStateRollover,,0,1,1,3,3,tt_unitact_buildRepair,vtt_unitact_buildRepair,BldRepair2,0,1,"""UIUnitCommand_BuildRepair""",,""""""
Cool thanks.

Special ability's what file are they kept in? As trying to add stealth ability to stealth aircraft?

Think this thread has turned into a English modding guide lol
Post Reply

Return to “Questions”