EE2X-Unofficial Version 1.6- ERROR-MODIFIED VERSION

ImageNeed any help? Do you have a problem? Ask us! We will help you!
Hyperionlee
Posts: 7
Joined: 11 Feb 2024, 10:54

EE2X-Unofficial Version 1.6- ERROR-MODIFIED VERSION

Post by Hyperionlee »

I can't play the EEX2 1.6,when i launch EEX2--
"EE2X-Unofficial Version 1.6- ERROR-MODIFIED VERSION
the launcher has detected that you're using an illegal,modified version of the unoffcial version 1.6 launcher.please re-install unofficial patch 1.6"
QQ图片20240211175759.jpg
QQ图片20240211175759.jpg (555.68 KiB) Viewed 83 times

User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8693
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 105 times

Re: EE2X-Unofficial Version 1.6- ERROR-MODIFIED VERSION

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

Where did you download it from? I never seen someone reporting this problem.

This seems like some security check activated, and the Launcher quits itself not to allow unauthorized code execution.

Did you download it from https://ee2.eu/patch ?

Added after 5 minutes 16 seconds:
Please go to folder:

C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts

And then open file: "hosts" with notepad.

Is there anything that includes ee2.eu domain added? It seems like the Launcher detected that the version check is not coming from the official server, and blocked itself in order to prevent man-in-the-middle attacks. If the hosts file doesn't include the ee2.eu domain, then check your firewall if it's not blocking it.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
Hyperionlee
Posts: 7
Joined: 11 Feb 2024, 10:54

Re: EE2X-Unofficial Version 1.6- ERROR-MODIFIED VERSION

Post by Hyperionlee »

Dr.MonaLisa wrote: 11 Feb 2024, 11:45 Where did you download it from? I never seen someone reporting this problem.

This seems like some security check activated, and the Launcher quits itself not to allow unauthorized code execution.

Did you download it from https://ee2.eu/patch ?

Added after 5 minutes 16 seconds:
Please go to folder:

C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts

And then open file: "hosts" with notepad.

Is there anything that includes ee2.eu domain added? It seems like the Launcher detected that the version check is not coming from the official server, and blocked itself in order to prevent man-in-the-middle attacks. If the hosts file doesn't include the ee2.eu domain, then check your firewall if it's not blocking it.
I UPDATE FROM empireearth2://FunctionMinorVersionInstall
and my notebook can run the EE2X 1.6, but my PC can't.
i will try in that way what you told

Added after 4 minutes 46 seconds:
i open the host
and there is no any "ee2.eu"

Added after 1 minute 38 seconds:
I RUN UnofficialVersionConfig.VBS,and show me the ERROR all the same
Attachments
微信图片_20240211190935.jpg
微信图片_20240211190935.jpg (325.12 KiB) Viewed 68 times
User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8693
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 105 times

Re: EE2X-Unofficial Version 1.6- ERROR-MODIFIED VERSION

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

Do you use any antivirus / firewall on your PC? If yes, can you pause it and check if it works then?
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
Hyperionlee
Posts: 7
Joined: 11 Feb 2024, 10:54

Re: EE2X-Unofficial Version 1.6- ERROR-MODIFIED VERSION

Post by Hyperionlee »

Dr.MonaLisa wrote: 11 Feb 2024, 13:37 Do you use any antivirus / firewall on your PC? If yes, can you pause it and check if it works then?
it doesn‘t Work even I Closed all Firewall ,

Added after 5 minutes 40 seconds:
AND THE EE2X Old Version (i guess that is 158005)IS OK,without error
User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8693
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 105 times

Re: EE2X-Unofficial Version 1.6- ERROR-MODIFIED VERSION

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

This security check exists since version 1.5.2 or earlier (from around 2016), so almost all UP1.5 versions already had it.

I checked the source code and this error can only occur if the EE2.eu domain address is incorrect.

What IP address do you see when you type in windows commandline:
ping ee2.eu
ping patch.ee2.eu
ping keepalive.ee2.eu

?

Is it showing 109.71.*.* or something else?

I'm worried that you might have some malicious program running on this computer which is attempting to modify resolved domain addresses. So it's either antivirus/firewall doing weird things (even when paused), or some other program that is attempting to intercept connection.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
Hyperionlee
Posts: 7
Joined: 11 Feb 2024, 10:54

Re: EE2X-Unofficial Version 1.6- ERROR-MODIFIED VERSION

Post by Hyperionlee »

Dr.MonaLisa wrote: 11 Feb 2024, 19:11 This security check exists since version 1.5.2 or earlier (from around 2016), so almost all UP1.5 versions already had it.

I checked the source code and this error can only occur if the EE2.eu domain address is incorrect.

What IP address do you see when you type in windows commandline:
ping ee2.eu
ping patch.ee2.eu
ping keepalive.ee2.eu

?

Is it showing 109.71.*.* or something else?

I'm worried that you might have some malicious program running on this computer which is attempting to modify resolved domain addresses. So it's either antivirus/firewall doing weird things (even when paused), or some other program that is attempting to intercept connection.
it show 109.71.253.27 when i ping ee2.eu & keepalive.ee2.eu
and fail in pinging patch.ee2.eu

Added after 8 minutes 6 seconds:
" So it's either antivirus/firewall doing weird things (even when paused), or some other program that is attempting to intercept connection."
i found it ,when i closed the windows defender,i need put the ee.exe& ee2x.exe in the defender white list
thank you very much,Dr.Monalisa
User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8693
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 105 times

Re: EE2X-Unofficial Version 1.6- ERROR-MODIFIED VERSION

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

Okay, that's interesting. Is there any other rule that potentially blocked it? Can you check other Windows Defender rules to see if you can find another one with EE2.exe?

Pinging the patch.ee2.eu should also work from cmd. If it doesn't, then some features might not work. Maybe some other DNS blocker is affecting it? Have you tried to set your DNS in Network Adapter settings to 1.1.1.1 or 8.8.8.8 to see if it changes anything?
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
Hyperionlee
Posts: 7
Joined: 11 Feb 2024, 10:54

Re: EE2X-Unofficial Version 1.6- ERROR-MODIFIED VERSION

Post by Hyperionlee »

I can ping patch.ee2.eu right now,and I also login in the internet battle room,maybe i play EE2X in LAN without internet,when i change WI-FI,the windows defender work and made the EE2X.EXE Error,I guess

Added after 1 minute 38 seconds:
Maybe it's OK right now,thank U
Attachments
微信图片_20240212182427.jpg
微信图片_20240212182427.jpg (618.7 KiB) Viewed 41 times
微信图片_20240212182431.jpg
微信图片_20240212182431.jpg (759.42 KiB) Viewed 41 times
微信图片_20240212182421.jpg
微信图片_20240212182421.jpg (394.34 KiB) Viewed 41 times
微信图片_20240212182415.jpg
微信图片_20240212182415.jpg (387.17 KiB) Viewed 41 times
微信图片_20240212182436.jpg
微信图片_20240212182436.jpg (533.21 KiB) Viewed 41 times
User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8693
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 105 times

Re: EE2X-Unofficial Version 1.6- ERROR-MODIFIED VERSION

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

That's great! Thanks for performing additional tests.

Just a side question, I noticed that you disabled the Middle Mouse Button Actions in UP1.6 Settings. Is there any reason behind it, or it was disabled accidentally?

Also, why there isn't the Audio Taunts option visible in the Maximization Helper window? It looks like you're using some custom mod of Unofficial Patch 1.6. Was it intentional, or you changed some settings when you were trying to fix the issue? If it was accidental, I would recommend you to install the patch again from: https://ee2.eu/patch and check option to "Reset UnofficialVersionConfig.txt file" (or something like this). This way you will not lose some of the patch features that are only available in the main release.

Added after 8 minutes 48 seconds:
Also you're not using the newest version of the patch. I highly recommend to update it, because the Buildings Rotation Memory function was not working 100% correctly in the previous updates, and many fixes were applied after that: https://ee2.eu/patch/changes/
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
Post Reply

Return to “Help, Questions & Problems. Empire Earth II Support.”