Bug in the Game

ImageNeed any help? Do you have a problem? Ask us! We will help you!
Post Reply
MOG
Posts: 5
Joined: 24 Sep 2022, 14:44
Has thanked: 1 time

Bug in the Game

Post by MOG »

Hello people

I have the EEII for a long time again. Installed it on my gaming laptop Dell G15 and did everything as you described. Then played a game against my brother where everything worked. A day later when I opened the game again, but it no longer worked properly. I entire game all the fonts are no longer visible. This makes it impossible to play a real game. Otherwise everything else works. Can you help me further ?

Many greetings

User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8462
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 76 times

Re: Bug in the Game

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

Hi MOG.

This sounds like the bug with the Intel Graphics drivers.

From what I remember Intel released graphics drivers for new integrated graphics cards, which don't work correctly in EE2. They somehow remove all fonts from the menu.

Do you have a new laptop? Can you try to roll back to older graphics drivers version?
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
MOG
Posts: 5
Joined: 24 Sep 2022, 14:44
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Bug in the Game

Post by MOG »

Yeah it’s a new laptop but how do I roll back the graphics drivers version?
And thank you for the quick answer
User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8462
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 76 times

Re: Bug in the Game

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

Please try the following:

- Type in the Start Menu search: "Device Manager" and open it.
- Go to "Display Adapters" and double click on your graphics card name.
- Go to the "Driver" tab.
- Click on the "Roll Back Driver" option, or "Update Driver" (if the Roll Back is grayed out). Then select some older version of the drivers.

The best solution though, would be contacting Intel support and ask them to fix these graphics drivers.

When you have some time, please open the Support Chat in Unofficial Patch 1.5 Launcher. Simply click on the "Need any help? Got a question?...." button. This way I can gather some hardware information of your laptop and know more which GPUs are affected.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
MOG
Posts: 5
Joined: 24 Sep 2022, 14:44
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Bug in the Game

Post by MOG »

Thank you for your reply. I have already returned the laptop now. I would like to buy a new laptop though. Would you recommend me one where it does not come to such an error and what is good.
User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8462
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 76 times

Re: Bug in the Game

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

MOG, I think you should look up for something with AMD Processor. Then, it won't use the Intel HD graphics at all (since it's a name of the integrated GPU from Intel processors). Eventually, you can buy something with Intel processor, BUT that also has the NVIDIA graphics card. This way you'd still be able to play EE2 with no such stupid Intel errors. Or a cherry on a cake: a laptop with AMD processor and Nvidia graphics card. If you get a laptop with extra graphics card, you'll for sure have a better performance in EE2 than it would be on integrated graphics only.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
These users thanked the author Dr.MonaLisa for the post:
MOG
MOG
Posts: 5
Joined: 24 Sep 2022, 14:44
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Bug in the Game

Post by MOG »

Thank you
User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8462
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 76 times

Re: Bug in the Game

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

If you find some affordable laptop, you can post a link there, so I check for potential issues with EE2 (of course if I'm aware of them), and let you know if it's worth to buy it.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
MOG
Posts: 5
Joined: 24 Sep 2022, 14:44
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Bug in the Game

Post by MOG »

Ok, Perfect.
User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8462
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 76 times

Re: Bug in the Game

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

I finally found the reason of this problem, and reported the issue on their GitHub: https://github.com/microsoft/D3D9On12/issues/57
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
Post Reply

Return to “Help, Questions & Problems. Empire Earth II Support.”