When the AI does crazy stuff.....

ImageImageTalking about Modding for EE2 and EE2 AOS. New maps, patches, programs and Multiplayer scenarios.
Post Reply
NoRtyByN8uRe
Posts: 5
Joined: 20 Mar 2019, 23:41

When the AI does crazy stuff.....

Post by NoRtyByN8uRe » 26 Jun 2019, 18:50

Here's a pic from a game I just started:

Image

One of my opponents has built like 20 bridges leading to my territory. What causes the AI to do stuff like this? lol

i need to figure out a way to modify the AI in this game.

also i notice my opponents never build walls... or for example i sent a ship across the map and attacked an opponents city center near the shore line and burned it to the ground, nobody tried to stop me.

is the AI bugged in this game sometimes?


User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 7590
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland

Re: When the AI does crazy stuff.....

Post by Dr.MonaLisa » 26 Jun 2019, 20:54

Most likely he tried to access the region blocked by palisade, thinking it's a river block and spamming bridges.

AI should build walls, at least on plains map.
You can always change production/building order, by editing ALL files in folders:
EE2: aips
AOS: aips_ee2x
(I recommend using Notepad++ for that)

But it won't fix AI behavior which is hardcoded in game executables.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains

NoRtyByN8uRe
Posts: 5
Joined: 20 Mar 2019, 23:41

Re: When the AI does crazy stuff.....

Post by NoRtyByN8uRe » 26 Jun 2019, 20:59

coool that makes sense... im using Mediterranean map and the AI never builds walls... I finally got the game playing the way I like it though. Marathon game this will take weeks to finish. ill check out the buildings order that could really change the way the game feels

User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 7590
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland

Re: When the AI does crazy stuff.....

Post by Dr.MonaLisa » 26 Jun 2019, 21:00

Are you playing EE2 or EE2: AOS?
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains

NoRtyByN8uRe
Posts: 5
Joined: 20 Mar 2019, 23:41

Re: When the AI does crazy stuff.....

Post by NoRtyByN8uRe » 26 Jun 2019, 21:19

aos with th 1.5 patch

I dont like infinite resourses so i changed like this

Code: Select all

UnitType ResourceGold
{
	parent = ResourceNotTree
	
	properties {
		displayName = tx_utn_Gold_name
		mmColor = [192,192,0,255]
		VerboseTooltip = vtt_unit_Gold
	}
	abilities [ 
		Resource { type = kResourceType_Gold; amount = 1000000; alwaysExhaustible = 1; maxNumOfWorkers = 6}
	]
}
for all the resourses, set them at one million

Image
Last edited by NoRtyByN8uRe on 26 Jun 2019, 21:32, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 7590
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland

Re: When the AI does crazy stuff.....

Post by Dr.MonaLisa » 26 Jun 2019, 21:21

Oh, I thought it could be related to change:
- Fixed map generation of Pangea maps on Empire Earth II: The Art of Supremacy.
viewtopic.php?p=20404#p20404

But that's Mediterranean, so not touched at all.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains

Post Reply

Return to “EE2 files, modding, maps, testing, etc.”