Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Discussion About Modding, Changes Ideas, etc.
User avatar
Loewenherz
Posts: 244
Joined: 23 Sep 2017, 17:26
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by Loewenherz »

Two new useful functions that i found in the List from Dr.Mona Lisa and that is not explained in the Scripting Doc. ;)

// void TributeTerritory(int in_iPlayerFromID, int in_iTerritoryID)
// That are now my Land, and all Buildings of that. Hehehe.
TributeTerritory(1, "Mexico");

// void TributeUnits(int in_iPlayerFromID, const char *in_szGroupName)
// Hey buddy, give me your units.
TributeUnits(1, "GroupTribute");

* float in_fAngle

According to my experience, that parameter doesn't work, except in SetCameraHeading.
List of tutorials, useful threads and utilities (look here before posting): Here

Add Pics to Map: viewtopic.php?f=54&p=25184#p25184

Loews Work: viewtopic.php?f=54&t=5160

User avatar
Loewenherz
Posts: 244
Joined: 23 Sep 2017, 17:26
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by Loewenherz »

Two new Audiofunctions for scripting, thats not explained in the Scripting Doc.

// Play a own streaming background music, from the music folder in the Empire Earth 2 directory.
int PlayOneShotMusic(const char *in_filename);

// Same as PlayOneShotMusic, but makes the music loop indefinitely.
// You definitely want to save the music handle for this one so you can
// stop it.
int PlayLoopingMusic(const char *in_filename);
List of tutorials, useful threads and utilities (look here before posting): Here

Add Pics to Map: viewtopic.php?f=54&p=25184#p25184

Loews Work: viewtopic.php?f=54&t=5160
User avatar
Loewenherz
Posts: 244
Joined: 23 Sep 2017, 17:26
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by Loewenherz »

Hi Mona,

have you solved how the rule HasTextBeenTyped work?

http://ee.heavengames.com/cgi-bin/forum ... ,37878,,10
List of tutorials, useful threads and utilities (look here before posting): Here

Add Pics to Map: viewtopic.php?f=54&p=25184#p25184

Loews Work: viewtopic.php?f=54&t=5160
User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8697
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 108 times

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

Hey. No I didn't find a solution. Seems like this function just doesn't work :( I tried many possibilities and texts but nothing ever worked.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
User avatar
Loewenherz
Posts: 244
Joined: 23 Sep 2017, 17:26
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by Loewenherz »

Ok, thanks for the answer. ;)
List of tutorials, useful threads and utilities (look here before posting): Here

Add Pics to Map: viewtopic.php?f=54&p=25184#p25184

Loews Work: viewtopic.php?f=54&t=5160
User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8697
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 108 times

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

Loewenherz, do you maybe know how to set the "normal" time of day in the map editor or scripts, for EE2 scenario? I wanted to enable the new "Cycle" time option, but didn't find it anywhere. The functions in the .ies scrip seems to be useless for that.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
User avatar
Loewenherz
Posts: 244
Joined: 23 Sep 2017, 17:26
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by Loewenherz »

I only know time of day as .ies script function. So sorry, i cant help you. But you have solved that, or?

By the Way. How save the game the chats? I think, that HasTextBeenTyped can not access on that. Maybe the Developer have changed anything here?
No matter.

PS: Special forces (Button in the editor and a script function) are for the AI units, that the not use. ;)
All in all are all functions from the Campaign from EE2 and EE2x available and work, so that end-user can create complex Scenarios, i think.
But that .ies script system are not very user-friendly and that make it very frustrated for not computer science user... :ugeek:
List of tutorials, useful threads and utilities (look here before posting): Here

Add Pics to Map: viewtopic.php?f=54&p=25184#p25184

Loews Work: viewtopic.php?f=54&t=5160
User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8697
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 108 times

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

The time of day function from the .ies script doesn't work. It only changes some lighting settings which are not even used on the normal EE2.
I added the Cycle Time of day to my scenarios using some memory hacking. It seems to work fine, but the whole procedure if very complicated.

About the HasTextBeenTyped, I think you asked the same earlier: viewtopic.php?p=23689#p23689
Basically it won't work.

"Special forces" button works for something, but I don't remember for what now :( I remember it had to be used for some script to work.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
User avatar
Loewenherz
Posts: 244
Joined: 23 Sep 2017, 17:26
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by Loewenherz »

Hi Mona,
Leader wrote: 23 Oct 2017, 22:39 The time of day function from the .ies script doesn't work. It only changes some lighting settings which are not even used on the normal EE2.
I added the Cycle Time of day to my scenarios using some memory hacking. It seems to work fine, but the whole procedure if very complicated.
Seems too complicated for me. :?
Leader wrote: 23 Oct 2017, 22:39 About the HasTextBeenTyped, I think you asked the same earlier: viewtopic.php?p=23689#p23689
Basically it won't work.
I try everything :mrgreen: , before i let it be, but i leave it in this case.
Leader wrote: 23 Oct 2017, 22:39 "Secial forces" button works for something, but I don't remember for what now :( I remember it had to be used for some script to work.
i have shown in the scripting Doc. Special forces is only for that, that the AI dont use the Unit.

Greeting Loewenherz
List of tutorials, useful threads and utilities (look here before posting): Here

Add Pics to Map: viewtopic.php?f=54&p=25184#p25184

Loews Work: viewtopic.php?f=54&t=5160
User avatar
calsch03
Posts: 43
Joined: 04 Dec 2015, 11:24
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by calsch03 »

Hi,

I have been trying to figure out how scripting works in this game, but there is one thing i can't figure out on my own. I want to make a mission status bar like this one: https://prnt.sc/he87cr.

The problem is that the file: "EE2 SCRIPTING.doc" only describes how to make a status screen with text database strings, but when I alter the text database I can't join any multiplayer games anymore.

So my question is: Is it possible to make a mission screen without editing the text database?

My current code:

Code: Select all

//Wave counter
	StartFormat("txt_maasai_waveinfo");
	FormatInt("WAVECOUNTER", cWavecouterdisplay);
	FormatInt("MAXWAVE", 75);
	PrintFormattedMissionStatusString(iWaveinfo);
	ShowMissionStatusString(iWaveinfo, true);
Post Reply

Return to “Discussion”