Patch 1.5 and "vanilla" experience for EEII+AoS

General Talking for all forum users.
Sat42

Patch 1.5 and "vanilla" experience for EEII+AoS

Post by Sat42 »

Hi to the team!

I am happy I discovered the existence of the 1.5 "unofficial" patch - I started playing Empire Earth II recently and frankly, I believe I have found the true successor to the "classic" Age of Empires series (N.B.: I have yet to play Age of Empires III, that's for later - maybe in a couple of years). I only finished the tutorial and the Korean campaign so far but I can already tell that this RTS is up there with my best experiences in the genre. I would have been sad if the game had been completely "dead" at this point. Especially as I would like to make some nice single player scenarios (some historical, some fictional) in time, and one needs an audience (however small) for motivation!

I think I would be dumb not to take advantage of the 1.5 patch (note: screen resolution isn't a problem for me, I'm playing on a 1280x1024 monitor), seeing as it seemingly fixes pretty much all the bugs left after the last official patch (already very stable anyway, haven't noticed bugs so far apart from an invincible scout for the player in the last scenario of the tutorial campaign, but I always assumed that was a trigger-related bug), but I am interested in experiencing the game as close to "vanilla" as possible.

I know about the "Change UP1.5 Settings" button to switch option "Unlock UP1.5 units, buildings, models, sounds and camera settings in game" to "No" (and it seems the saves and settings can be carried over from the previous version of the game) so all good there, but I still have some specific questions: