Changing What Epoch Certain Resources can Be Gathered

ImageImageTalking about Modding for EE2 and EE2 AOS. New maps, patches, programs and Multiplayer scenarios.
Post Reply
PaulStretch
Posts: 37
Joined: 27 Jun 2021, 16:10
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Changing What Epoch Certain Resources can Be Gathered

Post by PaulStretch »

I'm wanting to replace "Iron" with "Machined Parts". Changing the display names and where it can be gathered from is easy. the Problem is I can't figure out how the game controls when a resource can be gathered by citizens. Citizens have the ability to gather resources defined in their unit file. The resources have the ability resource assigned to them in the resource file. I checked the list of upgrades form Epoch 4 when iron is made available. The upgrade for iron in Epoch4_Upgrades only refers to a visual upgrade for Iron. There doesn't seem to be anything else in the tech tree folder that would control when a resource can be gathered. I'm not sure where else to look.

User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8182
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 25 times

Re: Changing What Epoch Certain Resources can Be Gathered

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

Unfortunately, this is hardcoded in the executable (I don't exactly know where in memory it is). I was searching for this for Iwanicki for his Realistic Mod, but it was not possible.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
These users thanked the author Dr.MonaLisa for the post:
PaulStretch
User avatar
RGV1
Posts: 114
Joined: 13 Aug 2011, 11:22
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Changing What Epoch Certain Resources can Be Gathered

Post by RGV1 »

PaulStretch wrote: 14 Jul 2021, 20:57 I'm wanting to replace ...
What exactly do you want to do?

If you instead "iron" if you want to introduce a new resource instead of the old resource, then changing the visual image, text images should be enough for the player to understand that there is no "iron", but there is "Machined Parts".
For the player it will be Machined Parts, and for the game engine it will be "iron".


If you want to introduce a new resource next to the hardware, then this is impossible, as already mentioned "this is hardcoded in the executable".

"when a resource can be gathered by citizens" - such things are not modified, since "this is hardcoded in the executable".
These users thanked the author RGV1 for the post:
PaulStretch
PaulStretch
Posts: 37
Joined: 27 Jun 2021, 16:10
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Changing What Epoch Certain Resources can Be Gathered

Post by PaulStretch »

Yeah I figured that out when I thought about it more. I noticed though the resource sprites are only split into two texcache files. I tried changing the sprite names in the "inGame" file in graphic utils that refer to it, but that didn't do anything. I'm guessing I actually have to replace the texcache file with a tga in order to change the sprites' appearance.
PaulStretch
Posts: 37
Joined: 27 Jun 2021, 16:10
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Changing What Epoch Certain Resources can Be Gathered

Post by PaulStretch »

Managed to work it out
resources.png
resources.png (42.96 KiB) Viewed 258 times
User avatar
RGV1
Posts: 114
Joined: 13 Aug 2011, 11:22
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Changing What Epoch Certain Resources can Be Gathered

Post by RGV1 »

This is a UI texture, its name can be found in files like csv, ddf, utt8
and change the name to your tga file.
I see you did great. This is an interesting screenshot, I will post it in my discord and VKontakte group to maintain interest in the game.
These users thanked the author RGV1 for the post:
PaulStretch
User avatar
RGV1
Posts: 114
Joined: 13 Aug 2011, 11:22
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Changing What Epoch Certain Resources can Be Gathered

Post by RGV1 »

PaulStretch wrote: 16 Jul 2021, 02:55 Managed to work it out
Sorry if it is will be offtopic.

The screenshot aroused some interest in our community:
Likes and repost in the VK group
https://vk.cc/c4aj5v

Question in discord.
I am addressing this question to you: "Will the add-on be related to the theme of space, as it was in EE1?"

Probably "+1" to some sense to do beta version of your mod.
Attachments
Безымянный.png
Безымянный.png (313.28 KiB) Viewed 208 times
Безымянный2.png
Безымянный2.png (111.44 KiB) Viewed 208 times
PaulStretch
Posts: 37
Joined: 27 Jun 2021, 16:10
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Changing What Epoch Certain Resources can Be Gathered

Post by PaulStretch »

My plan is to have starships in epoch 13, 14, and 15. The first ones will just be orbital bombers. Then destroyers and battleships will be introduced to counteract bombers and attack (maybe) space structures. They will be like satellites, where they fly at the highest elevation possible. Neither ground unit or air units can see starships or attack them, but starships can see ground and air, but only some can attack ground. There will be radar systems are ground based lasers for counteracting and detecting starships. Though mainly you will use starships to fight enemy starships. This is all awhile off,(Right now I'm still working the stone age epoch). My main concern now is getting the game to work without crashes. I'm looking into just integrating my mod into EE2 1.5 because a lot of necessities are already there, and the mod seems pretty well known.
demo.jpg
demo.jpg (288.09 KiB) Viewed 202 times
I made this ship for a different game, but this will be reworking this design for EE2.
User avatar
RGV1
Posts: 114
Joined: 13 Aug 2011, 11:22
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Changing What Epoch Certain Resources can Be Gathered

Post by RGV1 »

Clear.
Good luck with modding
Sat42
Posts: 112
Joined: 03 Dec 2018, 18:01
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Changing What Epoch Certain Resources can Be Gathered

Post by Sat42 »

@PaulStretch: Brilliant stuff! love the ship's design
Post Reply

Return to “EE2 files, modding, maps, testing, etc.”