No shallows at all possible? bridges only?

ImageImageTalking about Modding for EE2 and EE2 AOS. New maps, patches, programs and Multiplayer scenarios.
Post Reply
Sat42
Posts: 39
Joined: 03 Dec 2018, 18:01

No shallows at all possible? bridges only?

Post by Sat42 » 02 May 2019, 19:09

Dear all,

So in designing my first scenario I came to the realisation that by default there is no concept of "shallows" in Empire Earth 2 (unlike in Age of Empires 1/2, where units can cross shallow water areas), nonetheless is there a way to simulate shallows in this game? has a clever designer pulled this off?

Or are bridges really the only options for land units to cross water/rivers?


User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 7408
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland

Re: No shallows at all possible? bridges only?

Post by Dr.MonaLisa » 02 May 2019, 20:55

Only bridges. Maybe painting terrain with some water-a-like color would help, but still wouldn't look like a real water.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains

Sat42
Posts: 39
Joined: 03 Dec 2018, 18:01

Re: No shallows at all possible? bridges only?

Post by Sat42 » 02 May 2019, 22:00

Bummer! but heh, not a huge issue, just... my prehistoric people will have to build a wooden bridge :)

EDIT

Just tested Loew's river ambient sheet - it is currently just a static texture on a sheet, but...

@Loew: is it possible to make that river sheet have an animated texture? even better, would it be possible to use the animated water texture used by EEII for your river ambient sheet? If the reflection property could be added on top of that, the illusion would be perfect! :D

Post Reply

Return to “EE2 files, modding, maps, testing, etc.”