Help with Russian City Center Visual

ImageImageTalking about Modding for EE2 and EE2 AOS. New maps, patches, programs and Multiplayer scenarios.
Post Reply
User avatar
Gonzalo
Posts: 93
Joined: 24 Aug 2018, 08:56

Help with Russian City Center Visual

Post by Gonzalo » 15 Feb 2019, 13:47

I am trying to set different models of City Center for different civilizations in epoch 7 with different flags by country. The only way I see of accomplishing this, due to create several city center unittypes would mean to mod the entire game, is to upgrade visual of each city center, just like original game upgraded the Russian City Center for Campaign. I have tried all means of accomplish this, copying the paradigm of the Russian City Center, creating unit model and unit type, and making every change I looked necessary for updating visuals of City Center...but there are so many mods that have altered the Russian City Center Visual that I am not sure how it worked at the beginning. I have tried to copy original code from the original gode, but perhaps Mona's patch, which is awesome and I certainly recommend, has deleted this feature. Please help...


User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 7408
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland

Re: Help with Russian City Center Visual

Post by Dr.MonaLisa » 15 Feb 2019, 20:17

Please use Developers Version of UP1.5 for modding: https://ee2.eu/patch/developers

The "Normal" version has changed files structure, and if you can't learn the new one, then it's better to mod on game in unchanged form.
You can learn about the differences between the Developers Version and the Normal one by reading this topic: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=5133
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains

brownsfan_95
Posts: 4
Joined: 31 Jan 2019, 03:06

Re: Help with Russian City Center Visual

Post by brownsfan_95 » 23 Feb 2019, 01:38

Gonzalo,
We know the game did something similar to what you want with the 1.20 patch. In that patch, they changed the visual for the heavy infantry 1, epoch 11 (rifleman), for only the Turkish civ while leaving the other two middle eastern civs riflemen alone.They also did this for the mortar and machine gunner. Below is what ithey added to the "db\Units\heavy_infantry1.ddf" file:

Code: Select all

//------------------------------------------------
//	EPOCH 11
//------------------------------------------------

UnitModel	HeavyInfantry1_11
{
	Parent		= BaseHuman
	DefaultModel 	= lhi11_rifleman.nif
	ChildNames 	= [ UnitShadow Beam_Tracer01 Muzzle_Rifleman ]
	States 		= [
		{	StateName = Idle	AnimName = sh_rifleman_idle01.KF	  
                              AnimVariants = [ sh_rifleman_idle02.KF 
						sh_rifleman_idle03.KF
                                                 sh_rifleman_season01.KF ]
                              AnimVariantsWeights = [ 0.1 0.1 0.1 ]
                 }
		{              StateName = UnpackedIdle  AnimName = sh_rifleman_unpackidle01.KF   }
                                { 	StateName = Walk	AnimName = sh_rifleman_walk01.KF
		}
		{ 	StateName = Run	AnimName = sh_rifleman_jog01.KF
		}
		{ 	StateName = Attack1	AnimName = sh_rifleman_attack02.KF 
			TextKeys = [
					{ Name = PLAY_SOUND Data = fx_rifle_fire KeyTime = 0.16 }
					] }
		// The capture related standing & shooting
		{ 	StateName = CaptureAttack1	AnimName = sh_rifleman_capture_bomb01.KF }
		// The capture specific animations
		{ 	StateName = CaptureAttack2	AnimName = sh_rifleman_capture01.KF
										AnimVariants = [ sh_rifleman_capture02.KF ]
										AnimVariantsWeights = [ 1.0	] }
		{ 	StateName = Pack	AnimName = sh_rifleman_pack02.KF  }
		{ 	StateName = Unpack	AnimName = sh_rifleman_unpack02.KF  }
                                { 	StateName = Death	           AnimName = sh_rifleman_unpackdeath01.KF  }  
                                {              StateName = PackedDeath  AnimName = sh_rifleman_death02.KF   }      
			]
	UIRenderingParams {
		xOffset = 0.01
		yOffset = -0.13
		zOffset = -6.12
		scale = 2.43
	}
}

UnitModel	HeavyInfantry1_11_Turkish
{
	Parent		= HeavyInfantry1_11
	DefaultModel 	= lhi11_rifleman_turkish.nif
} 
That last part there is how i think they added it. I've tried it with the Russian City Center in "EE2X_db\EE2X_db\Units\city_center.ddf" but it didn't work.

Code: Select all

//------------------------------------------------
//	CITY CENTER - EPOCH 7
//------------------------------------------------
UnitModel CityCenter_7
{
	Parent		= BaseBuilding
	DefaultModel 	= bld_citycenter7.NIF
	ChildNames 	= [ UnderCityCenter HugeGlow ExplSelectorBuild_Medium CityNameText ExplPartsCityCenter7 ]
	UIRenderingParams {
		xOffset = 2.63
		yOffset = 1.11
		zOffset = -0.43
		scale = 1.79
		angle = 42.63
		rotationSpeed = 0.00
		pitch = 32.63
		lightAngle = 30.00
		lightPitch = 90.00
		lightDiffuse = [50 50 45 255]
		lightSpecular = [0 0 0 255]
		lightAmbient = [40 40 40 255]
	}
}

UnitModel CityCenter_7_Russian
{
	Parent		= BaseBuilding
	DefaultModel 	= bld_citycenter10_ru.NIF
}
There must be some other directory when each region gets assigned its region specific unit visuals, but I can't find it. I've tried reverse engineering the 1.20 patch file but still nothing.

Sat42
Posts: 39
Joined: 03 Dec 2018, 18:01

Re: Help with Russian City Center Visual

Post by Sat42 » 20 Apr 2019, 14:10

@brownsfan_95 and @Gonzalo:

What you are trying to accomplish is of great interest to me! Please share your findings (if any), I will be most grateful. In the immediate term I am not going to try and do this, but after a couple or so ("easy") scenarios I will be needing a solution to accomplish this (in 1.5 "normal").

@brownsfan_95 it seems that you can already do this change of models for units with that code you displayed: does it work in 1.5?

Cheers

brownsfan_95
Posts: 4
Joined: 31 Jan 2019, 03:06

Re: Help with Russian City Center Visual

Post by brownsfan_95 » 23 Apr 2019, 23:06

Sat42

No, i could never get it to work and i don't understand why. I tried it with some of RGV1's units from his EE4 mod but it wouldn't work. There has to be some other directory i am missing...

Post Reply

Return to “EE2 files, modding, maps, testing, etc.”