Problem with animal textures

ImageImageTalking about Modding for EE2 and EE2 AOS. New maps, patches, programs and Multiplayer scenarios.
User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 7588
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland

Re: Problem with animal textures

Post by Dr.MonaLisa » 27 Aug 2018, 09:38

So, there is an "Installation Validation" report from Gonzalo: https://ee2.eu/validator/?viewreport=20 ... alo.report or https://patch.ee2.eu/patch15/Installati ... alo.report (less laggy version)

I have no idea how it's even possible to damage EE2 installation that bad...
Folders like: *bdb, *fontcache, *import, *zips\cache, *zips\graphics, *zips\textures
...have no rights to exists. Especially NOT unpacked!

The only smart solution for it is: Total deletion of this "shitty" folder. Installing fresh version of EE2 + AOS again (or copying it from a backup. Every modder should have a backup done), pasting/installing your mod files, pasting UP1.5 Developers version files: https://ee2.eu/patch/developers

You're lucky I created this "Installation Validation" tool and allowed to use it from Developers version. Otherwise you would be facing this problem forever.

Please do not damage your game folder this way ever again. Viewing that report was already carcinogenic.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains


User avatar
Gonzalo
Posts: 180
Joined: 24 Aug 2018, 08:56

Re: Problem with animal textures

Post by Gonzalo » 27 Aug 2018, 09:46

And what if I just zip those folders?

User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 7588
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland

Re: Problem with animal textures

Post by Dr.MonaLisa » 27 Aug 2018, 09:48

I didn't even list all bad folders.

Don't even try to fix it manually. It's a time waste. If you don't want to remove your current folder - simply create a new one with fresh installation and move your modded stuff one-by-one to it.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains

User avatar
Gonzalo
Posts: 180
Joined: 24 Aug 2018, 08:56

Re: Problem with animal textures

Post by Gonzalo » 27 Aug 2018, 09:51

RGV1 told me that it was no problem to leave unzipped those folders

Added after 37 seconds:
But it's ok I want to be good student ;)

Added after 1 minute 23 seconds:
You mean I call it Textures_2000.zip or something alike?

Added after 43 minutes 31 seconds:
OK, first of all I am making a backup

Added after 4 minutes 12 seconds:
Indeed Iwanicki warned me about Russian trend to mod tons of units with many mistakes

User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 7588
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland

Re: Problem with animal textures

Post by Dr.MonaLisa » 27 Aug 2018, 12:03

What are you talking about now?

Why the hell are you asking about .zipping files, while I clearly told you to not do it and to not waste time on it?

I won't believe that RGV1 told you such a bullshit. He knows which files need to be in .zip, otherwise his mod wouldn't run on people computers.

Number of modded units doesn't matter, as long as it's done correctly.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains

User avatar
Gonzalo
Posts: 180
Joined: 24 Aug 2018, 08:56

Re: Problem with animal textures

Post by Gonzalo » 27 Aug 2018, 12:50

Sorry dearest Leader, I am now making good job just as you commanded me...I hope I don't commit mistakes.

Post Reply

Return to “EE2 files, modding, maps, testing, etc.”