Problem with animal textures

ImageImageTalking about Modding for EE2 and EE2 AOS. New maps, patches, programs and Multiplayer scenarios.
User avatar
Gonzalo
Posts: 55
Joined: 24 Aug 2018, 08:56

Problem with animal textures

Post by Gonzalo » 24 Aug 2018, 09:18

Hi everyone, my name is Gonzalo (aka Michael 34) and I have contributed some animals and buildings to 1.5 patch. But I have a problem with my animals that I don't seem to be able to fix: when two animal models, even with different model and texture, appear at once in the game, one or the other apears without texture, in a blank black colour...any help or hint would be much appreciated.


User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 7260
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland

Re: Hi forum

Post by Dr.MonaLisa » 24 Aug 2018, 18:40

It sounds like a missing texture problem. Make sure UnitModel for the same UnitType exists.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains

User avatar
Gonzalo
Posts: 55
Joined: 24 Aug 2018, 08:56

Re: Problem with animal textures

Post by Gonzalo » 24 Aug 2018, 19:03

Thank you, Excellence. Nope, the problem, I think, is that I have many animals with the same skeleton (deer, wolf, etc) or perhaps I used the same model (changing just name) with different textures. Best regards...
P. S. Thank you for feedback =)

User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 7260
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland

Re: Problem with animal textures

Post by Dr.MonaLisa » 25 Aug 2018, 17:57

It's possible to use the same model file / textures multiple times.
It might also be related to: https://www.ee2.eu/help/#blackunits
But it should be fixed in version 155011+ which was released ~2 years ago.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains

User avatar
Gonzalo
Posts: 55
Joined: 24 Aug 2018, 08:56

Re: Problem with animal textures

Post by Gonzalo » 25 Aug 2018, 21:09

Thanks, I will try this way. Indeed I have the same model of horse in 4 colours (black, dark brown, light brown and white) and I would like to see all them at once in the game with correct uv textures!!

Added after 31 minutes 5 seconds:
Thank you Leader, but I have unchecked both directX 9 and high detail on settings in models and in animations and the problem persist (((

User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 7260
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland

Re: Problem with animal textures

Post by Dr.MonaLisa » 25 Aug 2018, 21:52

The question is, what version of UP1.5 for Developers do you use at the moment?
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains

User avatar
Gonzalo
Posts: 55
Joined: 24 Aug 2018, 08:56

Re: Problem with animal textures

Post by Gonzalo » 26 Aug 2018, 09:12

Hi, I think the last version, for I used this same page in the section of downloads. Or does exist another hidden link??

User avatar
Loewenherz
Posts: 102
Joined: 23 Sep 2017, 17:26

Re: Problem with animal textures

Post by Loewenherz » 26 Aug 2018, 09:25

Mona meant this: https://www.ee2.eu/patch/developers/

Mods or other things dont use the Official Patch with the new ingame stuff like scenarios, units or campaigns.
List of tutorials, useful threads and utilities (look here before posting): Here

The annoying memory for Mona: viewtopic.php?f=54&t=5089 :mrgreen:

User avatar
Gonzalo
Posts: 55
Joined: 24 Aug 2018, 08:56

Re: Problem with animal textures

Post by Gonzalo » 26 Aug 2018, 09:42

Thanks Loewenherz but I have updated the patch following your link and the problem still aggravates

User avatar
Loewenherz
Posts: 102
Joined: 23 Sep 2017, 17:26

Re: Problem with animal textures

Post by Loewenherz » 26 Aug 2018, 13:03

Leader wrote:
25 Aug 2018, 17:57
It's possible to use the same model file / textures multiple times.
It might also be related to: https://www.ee2.eu/help/#blackunits
But it should be fixed in version 155011+ which was released ~2 years ago.
Hm...
Rename the Model and and add the other texture to there. Its simple, but i think that work. I maintain, that every unit in EE2 has a own model.
List of tutorials, useful threads and utilities (look here before posting): Here

The annoying memory for Mona: viewtopic.php?f=54&t=5089 :mrgreen:

Post Reply

Return to “EE2 files, modding, maps, testing, etc.”