Page 4 of 7

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Posted: 23 Nov 2017, 14:53
by Dr.MonaLisa
Hello calsch03.
I added some empty text databases to Unofficial Patch 1.5, so you can put any text to those entries.

How to do this (step by step):
1. Quit the game if it's running.
2. Delete file "zips\dbtext_cheats.utf8"
3. Go to folder: "Unofficial Patch Files\EXEGeneratorData" and open file "TextsSource.txt" (I recommend using Notepad++)
4. Find:

Code: Select all

tx_futuretext21,"""Dr. Mona Lisa"""
tx_futuretext22,"""Monacopter2013"""
tx_futuretext23,"""Benedict XVI"""
tx_futuretext24,""""""
tx_futuretext25,""""""
tx_futuretext26,""""""
tx_futuretext27,""""""
tx_futuretext28,""""""
tx_futuretext29,""""""
tx_futuretext30,""""""
tx_futuretext31,""""""
tx_futuretext32,""""""
tx_futuretext33,""""""
tx_futuretext34,""""""
tx_futuretext35,""""""
tx_futuretext36,""""""
tx_futuretext37,""""""
tx_futuretext38,""""""
tx_futuretext39,""""""
tx_futuretext40,""""""
tx_futuretext41,""""""
tx_futuretext42,""""""
tx_futuretext43,""""""
tx_futuretext44,""""""
tx_futuretext45,""""""
tx_futuretext46,""""""
tx_futuretext47,""""""
tx_futuretext48,""""""
tx_futuretext49,""""""
tx_futuretext50,""""""
tx_futuretext51,""""""
tx_futuretext52,""""""
tx_futuretext53,""""""
tx_futuretext54,""""""
tx_futuretext55,""""""
tx_futuretext56,""""""
tx_futuretext57,""""""
tx_futuretext58,""""""
tx_futuretext59,""""""
tx_futuretext60,""""""
tx_futuretext61,""""""
tx_futuretext62,""""""
tx_futuretext63,""""""
tx_futuretext64,""""""
tx_futuretext65,""""""
tx_futuretext66,""""""
tx_futuretext67,""""""
tx_futuretext68,""""""
tx_futuretext69,""""""
tx_futuretext70,""""""
tx_futuretext71,""""""
tx_futuretext72,""""""
tx_futuretext73,""""""
tx_futuretext74,""""""
tx_futuretext75,""""""
tx_futuretext76,""""""
tx_futuretext77,""""""
tx_futuretext78,""""""
tx_futuretext79,""""""
tx_futuretext80,""""""
tx_futuretext81,""""""
tx_futuretext82,""""""
tx_futuretext83,""""""
tx_futuretext84,""""""
tx_futuretext85,""""""
tx_futuretext86,""""""
tx_futuretext87,""""""
tx_futuretext88,""""""
tx_futuretext89,""""""
tx_futuretext90,""""""
tx_futuretext91,""""""
tx_futuretext92,""""""
tx_futuretext93,""""""
tx_futuretext94,""""""
tx_futuretext95,""""""
tx_futuretext96,""""""
tx_futuretext97,""""""
tx_futuretext98,""""""
tx_futuretext99,""""""
As you can see, there is a lot of empty text entries, which you can use. I recommend editing from the biggest number to the smallest.
5. IMPORTANT: Make the backup of edited "TextsSource.txt" file. This file is always overwritten after installing a Minor Update. It means that after every update you have to delete "zips\dbtext_cheats.utf8" and put back the edited text source entries. After installing the update - don't overwrite the file! Only copy the part of edited texts (from the backup file) and replace existing "tx_futuretext" entries.

I hope it helps. When you finish your scenario, please feel free to paste edited text entries in this topic, and I'll add them to a Minor Update, so every player who plays your scenario will have them available.

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Posted: 23 Nov 2017, 19:13
by calsch03
Hello Dr.MonaLisa,

Thank you for your help, this is really helpful.
I will send the text entries once i've finalised them.

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Posted: 25 Nov 2017, 10:58
by calsch03
Hi Dr.MonaLisa,

I need two text database entries for my senario.

Code: Select all

tx_futuretext98,"""Wave %WAVECOUNTER% of %MAXWAVE%"""
tx_futuretext99,"""Final Wave: Survive for %SECONDS% seconds"""
You now can probably guess the type of mission im creating right now.

Please let me know if your going to change the name of the text entries, so i can change them in my scenario.

Thanks for your help,

calsch03

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Posted: 25 Nov 2017, 11:45
by Dr.MonaLisa
Hello.
Are you sure that you don't need more entries? Please feel free to use all you need and don't be ashamed to ask for it in the future.
The entries will have the same name (tx_futuretext99, tx_futuretext98), there is no need to change it. When we use all 100 entries I will create another 1000 :)

I'm glad that I was able to help.

By the way, are you sure that you need to use "seconds" only? I found in the text databases:

Code: Select all

// Initial ceasefire
tx_ig_init_ceasefire,"""Initial Ceasefire - %MINUTES%:%SECONDS%"""
tx_ig_init_ceasefire_lt_ten,"""Initial Ceasefire - %MINUTES%:0%SECONDS%"""
However I'm not sure if it would be possible to set minutes and seconds manually. Did some existing EE2 scenario/campaign use it?

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Posted: 25 Nov 2017, 12:08
by calsch03
Hi,

I only needed text entries to show the status of the wave progression. Everything else is currently handled with strings created in the script.

Yes there is a mission in empire earth 2 that uses a count down clock(like in mission: America 6 "The Cold War - Doomsday Countdown"), but then you probably need to create your own clock in the script because i could not find a function for it.

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Posted: 25 Nov 2017, 12:14
by Dr.MonaLisa
Too bad it can't be done in any easier way :(

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Posted: 25 Nov 2017, 17:59
by calsch03
Maybe I will make a clock script in the future, it can't be that hard.

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Posted: 25 Nov 2017, 19:16
by Dr.MonaLisa
I actually made a test, and it displays the time in minutes and seconds :)
I found those "missing" timer functions a long time ago and I used them in my Pirates and Planes scenarios.

Here is the test script:

Code: Select all

RULES FOR WORLD

SCENARIO
END_SCENARIO
  

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
// DEFINITIONS 
////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
DEFINITIONS
bool bILoveMonaLisa1
int iILoveMonaLisa1

 // OBJECTIVES

 //PLAYERS

END_DEFINITIONS

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
// INITIALIZATION 
////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
INITIALIZATION

StartFormat("tx_gs_roomWithNumber");
FormatPlayerName("ROOM", 1);
iILoveMonaLisa1 = NewMissionTimerWithFormattedName(bILoveMonaLisa1);
ShowMissionTimerWidget(iILoveMonaLisa1, false);

 // CONSTANTS

 ////normal stuff like poplimt diplomatic things and something which ends with ;

 //PLAYERS
END_INITIALIZATION

//  ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
//  //RUNS AFTER CINEMATIC, BEFORE OBJECTIVES OPEN
//  ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

RULE letsGO ONESHOT
if (GetElapsedGameTime()>5)
  then letsGOAction
END_RULE
ACTION letsGOAction
SCRIPT WORLD
SetMissionTimer(iILoveMonaLisa1, 300);
StartMissionTimer(iILoveMonaLisa1);
ShowMissionTimerWidget(iILoveMonaLisa1, true);
END_SCRIPT
END_ACTION

RULE letsGO2 ONESHOT
if (GetElapsedGameTime()>15)
  then letsGOAction2
END_RULE
ACTION letsGOAction2
SCRIPT WORLD
PauseMissionTimer(iILoveMonaLisa1);
END_SCRIPT
END_ACTION

RULE letsGO3 ONESHOT
if (GetElapsedGameTime()>30)
  then letsGOAction3
END_RULE
ACTION letsGOAction3
SCRIPT WORLD
ShowMissionTimerWidget(iILoveMonaLisa1, false);
END_SCRIPT
END_ACTION

RULE letsGO4 ONESHOT
if (GetElapsedGameTime()>35)
  then letsGOAction4
END_RULE
ACTION letsGOAction4
SCRIPT WORLD
SetMissionTimer(iILoveMonaLisa1, 600);
StartMissionTimer(iILoveMonaLisa1);
ShowMissionTimerWidget(iILoveMonaLisa1, true);
END_SCRIPT
END_ACTION
EE2_ScreenShot724.jpg
EE2_ScreenShot724.jpg (131.51 KiB) Viewed 4316 times

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Posted: 25 Nov 2017, 19:33
by calsch03
Ok Nice, I will try and see of I can get it to work in my script.

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Posted: 25 Nov 2017, 19:35
by Dr.MonaLisa
I'm sure you it will work :) Don't forget to update the text database for it and send me updated entries :)