Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Discussion About Modding, Changes Ideas, etc.
User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8697
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 108 times

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

Hello calsch03.
I added some empty text databases to Unofficial Patch 1.5, so you can put any text to those entries.

How to do this (step by step):
1. Quit the game if it's running.
2. Delete file "zips\dbtext_cheats.utf8"
3. Go to folder: "Unofficial Patch Files\EXEGeneratorData" and open file "TextsSource.txt" (I recommend using Notepad++)
4. Find:

Code: Select all

tx_futuretext21,"""Dr. Mona Lisa"""
tx_futuretext22,"""Monacopter2013"""
tx_futuretext23,"""Benedict XVI"""
tx_futuretext24,""""""
tx_futuretext25,""""""
tx_futuretext26,""""""
tx_futuretext27,""""""
tx_futuretext28,""""""
tx_futuretext29,""""""
tx_futuretext30,""""""
tx_futuretext31,""""""
tx_futuretext32,""""""
tx_futuretext33,""""""
tx_futuretext34,""""""
tx_futuretext35,""""""
tx_futuretext36,""""""
tx_futuretext37,""""""
tx_futuretext38,""""""
tx_futuretext39,""""""
tx_futuretext40,""""""
tx_futuretext41,""""""
tx_futuretext42,""""""
tx_futuretext43,""""""
tx_futuretext44,""""""
tx_futuretext45,""""""
tx_futuretext46,""""""
tx_futuretext47,""""""
tx_futuretext48,""""""
tx_futuretext49,""""""
tx_futuretext50,""""""
tx_futuretext51,""""""
tx_futuretext52,""""""
tx_futuretext53,""""""
tx_futuretext54,""""""
tx_futuretext55,""""""
tx_futuretext56,""""""
tx_futuretext57,""""""
tx_futuretext58,""""""
tx_futuretext59,""""""
tx_futuretext60,""""""
tx_futuretext61,""""""
tx_futuretext62,""""""
tx_futuretext63,""""""
tx_futuretext64,""""""
tx_futuretext65,""""""
tx_futuretext66,""""""
tx_futuretext67,""""""
tx_futuretext68,""""""
tx_futuretext69,""""""
tx_futuretext70,""""""
tx_futuretext71,""""""
tx_futuretext72,""""""
tx_futuretext73,""""""
tx_futuretext74,""""""
tx_futuretext75,""""""
tx_futuretext76,""""""
tx_futuretext77,""""""
tx_futuretext78,""""""
tx_futuretext79,""""""
tx_futuretext80,""""""
tx_futuretext81,""""""
tx_futuretext82,""""""
tx_futuretext83,""""""
tx_futuretext84,""""""
tx_futuretext85,""""""
tx_futuretext86,""""""
tx_futuretext87,""""""
tx_futuretext88,""""""
tx_futuretext89,""""""
tx_futuretext90,""""""
tx_futuretext91,""""""
tx_futuretext92,""""""
tx_futuretext93,""""""
tx_futuretext94,""""""
tx_futuretext95,""""""
tx_futuretext96,""""""
tx_futuretext97,""""""
tx_futuretext98,""""""
tx_futuretext99,""""""
As you can see, there is a lot of empty text entries, which you can use. I recommend editing from the biggest number to the smallest.
5. IMPORTANT: Make the backup of edited "TextsSource.txt" file. This file is always overwritten after installing a Minor Update. It means that after every update you have to delete "zips\dbtext_cheats.utf8" and put back the edited text source entries. After installing the update - don't overwrite the file! Only copy the part of edited texts (from the backup file) and replace existing "tx_futuretext" entries.

I hope it helps. When you finish your scenario, please feel free to paste edited text entries in this topic, and I'll add them to a Minor Update, so every player who plays your scenario will have them available.
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains

User avatar
calsch03
Posts: 43
Joined: 04 Dec 2015, 11:24
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by calsch03 »

Hello Dr.MonaLisa,

Thank you for your help, this is really helpful.
I will send the text entries once i've finalised them.
User avatar
calsch03
Posts: 43
Joined: 04 Dec 2015, 11:24
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by calsch03 »

Hi Dr.MonaLisa,

I need two text database entries for my senario.

Code: Select all

tx_futuretext98,"""Wave %WAVECOUNTER% of %MAXWAVE%"""
tx_futuretext99,"""Final Wave: Survive for %SECONDS% seconds"""
You now can probably guess the type of mission im creating right now.

Please let me know if your going to change the name of the text entries, so i can change them in my scenario.

Thanks for your help,

calsch03
User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8697
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 108 times

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

Hello.
Are you sure that you don't need more entries? Please feel free to use all you need and don't be ashamed to ask for it in the future.
The entries will have the same name (tx_futuretext99, tx_futuretext98), there is no need to change it. When we use all 100 entries I will create another 1000 :)

I'm glad that I was able to help.

By the way, are you sure that you need to use "seconds" only? I found in the text databases:

Code: Select all

// Initial ceasefire
tx_ig_init_ceasefire,"""Initial Ceasefire - %MINUTES%:%SECONDS%"""
tx_ig_init_ceasefire_lt_ten,"""Initial Ceasefire - %MINUTES%:0%SECONDS%"""
However I'm not sure if it would be possible to set minutes and seconds manually. Did some existing EE2 scenario/campaign use it?
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
User avatar
calsch03
Posts: 43
Joined: 04 Dec 2015, 11:24
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by calsch03 »

Hi,

I only needed text entries to show the status of the wave progression. Everything else is currently handled with strings created in the script.

Yes there is a mission in empire earth 2 that uses a count down clock(like in mission: America 6 "The Cold War - Doomsday Countdown"), but then you probably need to create your own clock in the script because i could not find a function for it.
User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8697
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 108 times

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

Too bad it can't be done in any easier way :(
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
User avatar
calsch03
Posts: 43
Joined: 04 Dec 2015, 11:24
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by calsch03 »

Maybe I will make a clock script in the future, it can't be that hard.
User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8697
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 108 times

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

I actually made a test, and it displays the time in minutes and seconds :)
I found those "missing" timer functions a long time ago and I used them in my Pirates and Planes scenarios.

Here is the test script:

Code: Select all

RULES FOR WORLD

SCENARIO
END_SCENARIO
  

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
// DEFINITIONS 
////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
DEFINITIONS
bool bILoveMonaLisa1
int iILoveMonaLisa1

 // OBJECTIVES

 //PLAYERS

END_DEFINITIONS

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
// INITIALIZATION 
////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
INITIALIZATION

StartFormat("tx_gs_roomWithNumber");
FormatPlayerName("ROOM", 1);
iILoveMonaLisa1 = NewMissionTimerWithFormattedName(bILoveMonaLisa1);
ShowMissionTimerWidget(iILoveMonaLisa1, false);

 // CONSTANTS

 ////normal stuff like poplimt diplomatic things and something which ends with ;

 //PLAYERS
END_INITIALIZATION

//  ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
//  //RUNS AFTER CINEMATIC, BEFORE OBJECTIVES OPEN
//  ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

RULE letsGO ONESHOT
if (GetElapsedGameTime()>5)
  then letsGOAction
END_RULE
ACTION letsGOAction
SCRIPT WORLD
SetMissionTimer(iILoveMonaLisa1, 300);
StartMissionTimer(iILoveMonaLisa1);
ShowMissionTimerWidget(iILoveMonaLisa1, true);
END_SCRIPT
END_ACTION

RULE letsGO2 ONESHOT
if (GetElapsedGameTime()>15)
  then letsGOAction2
END_RULE
ACTION letsGOAction2
SCRIPT WORLD
PauseMissionTimer(iILoveMonaLisa1);
END_SCRIPT
END_ACTION

RULE letsGO3 ONESHOT
if (GetElapsedGameTime()>30)
  then letsGOAction3
END_RULE
ACTION letsGOAction3
SCRIPT WORLD
ShowMissionTimerWidget(iILoveMonaLisa1, false);
END_SCRIPT
END_ACTION

RULE letsGO4 ONESHOT
if (GetElapsedGameTime()>35)
  then letsGOAction4
END_RULE
ACTION letsGOAction4
SCRIPT WORLD
SetMissionTimer(iILoveMonaLisa1, 600);
StartMissionTimer(iILoveMonaLisa1);
ShowMissionTimerWidget(iILoveMonaLisa1, true);
END_SCRIPT
END_ACTION
EE2_ScreenShot724.jpg
EE2_ScreenShot724.jpg (131.51 KiB) Viewed 4312 times
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
User avatar
calsch03
Posts: 43
Joined: 04 Dec 2015, 11:24
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by calsch03 »

Ok Nice, I will try and see of I can get it to work in my script.
User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 8697
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 108 times

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by Dr.MonaLisa »

I'm sure you it will work :) Don't forget to update the text database for it and send me updated entries :)
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains
Post Reply

Return to “Discussion”