EE2, EE2X - Empire Earth II - Unofficial Patch 1.4 (2013)

ImageImageTalking about Modding for EE2 and EE2 AOS. New maps, patches, programs and Multiplayer scenarios.
Dester
Posts: 2
Joined: 09 May 2013, 11:23

Re: EE2, EE2X - Empire Earth II - Unofficial Patch 1.4 (2013)

Post by Dester » 09 May 2013, 19:10

1920 * 1080 FTW!
Thank you very much!


tuzer01
Posts: 1
Joined: 03 Jul 2013, 11:23

link problem

Post by tuzer01 » 04 Jul 2013, 02:29

I can download updates but when I try to click them it says that it's removed from pc. Why?

User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 7534
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland

Re: EE2, EE2X - Empire Earth II - Unofficial Patch 1.4 (2013)

Post by Dr.MonaLisa » 04 Jul 2013, 03:46

tuzer01 wrote:I can download updates but when I try to click them it says that it's removed from pc. Why?
Hello tuzer01, thanks for contact.
Does this error appear when you're trying to install "Unofficial Patch 1.4" or "Official Patch 1.2"? Maybe you have version 1.2 already installed? To check this, please use this program: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/940 ... ersion.bat
If it shows you version: 1.0, then you will have to uninstall and then install Empire Earth II again using the following steps:
1. Run the file: setup.exe from your EE2 CD1.
2. Install the game.
3. Install patch 1.2 - run the file: ee2_update_uk_100-110_120.exe:
http://forum.ee2.eu/t1621-empire-earth- ... l-patch-12
4*. Run the file: setup.exe in your EE2X CD.
5*. Install EE2X (Empire Earth II The Art of Supremacy).
6. Install Unofficial patch 1.4 - run the file: ee2_update_100-130_140.exe:
http://forum.ee2.eu/t1636-ee2-ee2x-empi ... ch-14-2013
7. Play the game! (Install GameRanger to play Multiplayer with the other players).

*You don't need to install EE2: The Art of Supremacy if you don't want to.
If it shows version 1.2 - just install Unofficial Patch 1.4 (the first installation option).
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains

User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 7534
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland

Re: EE2, EE2X - Empire Earth II - Unofficial Patch 1.4 (2013)

Post by Dr.MonaLisa » 23 Jul 2013, 02:34

Unofficial Patch 1.4 - Download Statistics:
Since: 4.05.2013- 22:46 , to: 23.07.2013 - 02:00:
~80 days

From mediafire.com downloaded:
1543 times (statistics from adf.ly)
2176 times (real downloads number)
Image

From rapidshare.com downloaded:
129 times (statistics from adf.ly)
180 times (real downloads number)
Image

From dropbox.com downloaded:
192 times (statistics from adf.ly)
~270 times (real downloads number)

From ee2server:
105 times (statistics from adf.ly)
~160 times (real downloads number)

Other sources:
~50 times (real downloads number)

Unofficial Patch 1.4 has been downloaded in total:
More than: 2836 times (in this: 1969 counted by adf.ly).

That's a lot! Unofficial Patch 1.4 has been installed more times within 2,5 months, than Unofficial Patch 1.3 for 1 year!
The Unofficial Patch 1.4 is used mostly by players who play only Single Player mode, however almost all GameRanger players have got version 1.4 installed. It's very hard to find somebody with version 1.0 or 1.2.

Best regards,
Leader
Ministry of Game Affairs

ZT|carfaceUK
Posts: 45
Joined: 01 Aug 2012, 11:22

Re: EE2, EE2X - Empire Earth II - Unofficial Patch 1.4 (2013)

Post by ZT|carfaceUK » 25 Jul 2013, 20:05

this is great work congratsz to everyone who participated in getting 1.4 going

Townsendigital
Posts: 7
Joined: 06 Sep 2013, 11:23

Re: EE2, EE2X - Empire Earth II - Unofficial Patch 1.4 (2013)

Post by Townsendigital » 07 Sep 2013, 00:24

No love for 1440p? Myself and several friends run 1440, and would kill to have the game run at full res!

(We can make a 1440 with uniws, the old method, but several other friends cant, so we've always had to go with the "lowest common denominator" until now (900p laptop at the moment).

In fact, would it be wise to include a 4k resolution option? Call it "future-proofing" Image

Believe it or not, My friends and I are going to be having an 8-way+ match this coming weekend. You're invited, but if you bring in anyone else we'll hit the 10 cap. That's fine, its just a warning not to chain invite cause there wont be any extra room. We do, however, ask that you have an Intel i5 2.8GHz or better, absolute minimum.

We use Lan portals like Hamachi or Evolve to get a false direct connect. It works very well.

For what it's worth, this mod is fantastic. Despite a lack of "super-resolutions" the options of 768, 900 and 1080 are very erse and will improve our experience greatly. Also, having 1,000 wide map editor cap is a dream come true. I'll have to back down some of Dom's insanely overkill brushes, but that's a simple matter Image

If you're interested, take a look at my two favorite maps, found here:
http://ee.heavengames.com/downloads/sho ... ileid=3135


Another Suggestion I have. The Peak Winter month in EE2 is February. (I'm talking around Temperate here) This is when the textures are snowiest, and the environment is generally the "most Winter-like". "Winter" start season puts you in December, which is considerably less "Winter-like". On top of that Spring starts you in March which is MORE winterlike than WINTER!

I have in my digging discovered that the months are enumerated 0-11. Both Winter and Spring should be two months forward of their current setting. I like the idea of being able to run a locked-in winter game (Winter, no seasonal cycle), but the wrong timing definitions make this difficult. The closest option is Spring, with no seasonal cycle.

I've looked quite extensively for something in the db that would let me change this, (Im not a programmer) but I've had no luck.

User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 7534
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland

Re: EE2, EE2X - Empire Earth II - Unofficial Patch 1.4 (2013)

Post by Dr.MonaLisa » 07 Sep 2013, 03:15

Hello Townsendigital, and thanks for your long post!
No love for 1440p? Myself and several friends run 1440, and would kill to have the game run at full res!
We love all screen resolutions, unfortunately without the source code of the game it's impossible to add more screen resolutions. That's why I was able just to replace some of 4:3 screen resolutions (not all, because people are still using it).
(We can make a 1440 with uniws, the old method, but several other friends cant, so we've always had to go with the "lowest common denominator" until now (900p laptop at the moment).
In fact, would it be wise to include a 4k resolution option? Call it "future-proofing"
I think, for now uniws is the only way to play on 1440 (x900?).
4k resolution, hmmm... I didn't test if it works, because my TV is only 1920x1080p =) But for now, when almost nobody has 7680x4320 it would be waste of space. Empire Earth II for now can support only 6 screen display resolutions Image

I wanted to release patch 1.4 in 4 (or more) installation versions: For 16:9, 4:3, 16:10 monitors, etc.
Every exe would support different screen resolutions.
Unfortunately, EE2 has a very advanced checksum control system. Any single edition of the exe makes that you're unable to play with other people. For now, I'm not even thinking about next unofficial patch (1.5), but if we ever decided to create it, then the first thing we have to do is disable EXE checksum checking by game. How? I have no idea, and I really doubt that it's possible.

Just short information:
For now, any edition of patch 1.4 is impossible. It's a finished project. It has been installed over 3000 times, and every single edition would ruin compatibility of the version Image

We use Lan portals like Hamachi or Evolve to get a false direct connect. It works very well.
Hmm, maybe try GameRanger?:
http://forum.ee2.eu/t1570-how-to-play-e ... gameranger
A lot of players use it for Empire Earth II and EE2: AOS. You should check it out Image
If you're interested, take a look at my two favorite maps, found here:
http://ee.heavengames.com/downloads/sho ... ileid=3135
These maps looks awesome. Are these for main version of EE2 or for expansion pack EE2: AOS?
Another Suggestion I have. The Peak Winter month in EE2 is February. (I'm talking around Temperate here) This is when the textures are snowiest, and the environment is generally the "most Winter-like". "Winter" start season puts you in December, which is considerably less "Winter-like". On top of that Spring starts you in March which is MORE winterlike than WINTER!
I totally agree, however we always disable weather in multiplayer games (because of lags).
We will see what our specialist of EE2 files (DomDom) say. Maybe he'll find out what has to be edited. I personally am not good at modding...
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains

Townsendigital
Posts: 7
Joined: 06 Sep 2013, 11:23

Re: EE2, EE2X - Empire Earth II - Unofficial Patch 1.4 (2013)

Post by Townsendigital » 07 Sep 2013, 03:33

I figured as much with the other resolutions.
Any chance you could tell us how you altered the resolutions? I wouldn't mind trying to make our own variation.

Everything I do Is AoS. My maps are made in the AoS expansion. The only thing I dislike about that is the retarded bit where they decided to make most random maps generate territories in the number of players +1. I find that incredibly counter-intuitive to the game mechanics. But then, I make our maps myself. Image

I generally just copy over my entire Game installation to each of my friends when we play. Its only 620MB, even after your upgrade, so its easy enough.

The Six way matches we've had in the past can be outright legendary. My instance uses a mod Ive made called Visuals Overhaul 1.0 which makes ammunitions in the game look awesome. Things happen like 300 VS 300 Helicopter wars. Ever seen what happens when a multitype HERC group is attacked by Jets?

User avatar
Dr.MonaLisa
High Representative
Posts: 7534
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland

Re: EE2, EE2X - Empire Earth II - Unofficial Patch 1.4 (2013)

Post by Dr.MonaLisa » 07 Sep 2013, 04:17

I figured as much with the other resolutions.
Any chance you could tell us how you altered the resolutions? I wouldn't mind trying to make our own variation.
Hi, I used HEX editor to edit the .exe file.
Some details what you have to edit you will find here:
http://www.forum.ee2.eu/t1275p15-ee2-edit-ideas#15444
http://www.forum.ee2.eu/t1275p30-ee2-edit-ideas#15473
But it's not easy :)You can check with "uniws" what are "numbers" for the screen resolutions you want.
I generally just copy over my entire Game installation to each of my friends when we play. Its only 620MB, even after your upgrade, so its easy enough.
Are you sure? For me EE2 + AOS + 1.4 takes 1,94 GB...
The Six way matches we've had in the past can be outright legendary. My instance uses a mod Ive made called Visuals Overhaul 1.0 which makes ammunitions in the game look awesome.
Interesting mod, I checked here: http://ee.heavengames.com/downloads/sho ... ileid=2942
RGV1 was going to add this mod to EE4 Mod? Did he? Because I played EE4 mod some days ago, and I didn't see the changes...
Best regards,
Dr.MonaLisa
Ministry of Game Affairs
Department of Control and Complains

Townsendigital
Posts: 7
Joined: 06 Sep 2013, 11:23

Re: EE2, EE2X - Empire Earth II - Unofficial Patch 1.4 (2013)

Post by Townsendigital » 07 Sep 2013, 06:00

Thanks for the leads! My roommate will almost certainly be able to crack the problem with that help.

I did a lot of "slimming" to our copy. A huge amount of mass can be cut out with Scenario data alone. By now, if you haven't played a scenario, you probably don't give a hoot. Also, they weren't particularly great anyway.
The only Video file I have left is a custom rotating Earth I made for the title screen background Vid.

mediafire.com ?zm222ee982cv6mb

There are also several things like DX9 Installers and some things that are essentially adware that I deleted as well.
RGV1 Did ask, and I allowed it, but from what I can tell, the mod did not appear in his EE4.

Post Reply

Return to “EE2 files, modding, maps, testing, etc.”