Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

ImageImageTalking about Modding for EE2 and EE2 AOS. New maps, patches, programs and Multiplayer scenarios.
Loewenherz
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Sep 2017, 17:26
Location: Germany

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by Loewenherz » 01 Oct 2017, 15:16

Two new useful functions that i found in the List from Dr.Mona Lisa and that is not explained in the Scripting Doc. ;)

// void TributeTerritory(int in_iPlayerFromID, int in_iTerritoryID)
// That are now my Land, and all Buildings of that. Hehehe.
TributeTerritory(1, "Mexico");

// void TributeUnits(int in_iPlayerFromID, const char *in_szGroupName)
// Hey buddy, give me your units.
TributeUnits(1, "GroupTribute");

* float in_fAngle

According to my experience, that parameter doesn't work, except in SetCameraHeading.


Loewenherz
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Sep 2017, 17:26
Location: Germany

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by Loewenherz » 07 Oct 2017, 13:26

Two new Audiofunctions for scripting, thats not explained in the Scripting Doc.

// Play a own streaming background music, from the music folder in the Empire Earth 2 directory.
int PlayOneShotMusic(const char *in_filename);

// Same as PlayOneShotMusic, but makes the music loop indefinitely.
// You definitely want to save the music handle for this one so you can
// stop it.
int PlayLoopingMusic(const char *in_filename);

Loewenherz
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Sep 2017, 17:26
Location: Germany

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by Loewenherz » 08 Oct 2017, 23:41

Hi Mona,

have you solved how the rule HasTextBeenTyped work?

http://ee.heavengames.com/cgi-bin/forum ... ,37878,,10

User avatar
Leader
Dr.MonaLisa
Posts: 7003
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by Leader » 08 Oct 2017, 23:45

Hey. No I didn't find a solution. Seems like this function just doesn't work :( I tried many possibilities and texts but nothing ever worked.

Loewenherz
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Sep 2017, 17:26
Location: Germany

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by Loewenherz » 09 Oct 2017, 07:19

Ok, thanks for the answer. ;)

User avatar
Leader
Dr.MonaLisa
Posts: 7003
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by Leader » 20 Oct 2017, 18:57

Loewenherz, do you maybe know how to set the "normal" time of day in the map editor or scripts, for EE2 scenario? I wanted to enable the new "Cycle" time option, but didn't find it anywhere. The functions in the .ies scrip seems to be useless for that.

Loewenherz
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Sep 2017, 17:26
Location: Germany

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by Loewenherz » 23 Oct 2017, 22:01

I only know time of day as .ies script function. So sorry, i cant help you. But you have solved that, or?

By the Way. How save the game the chats? I think, that HasTextBeenTyped can not access on that. Maybe the Developer have changed anything here?
No matter.

PS: Special forces (Button in the editor and a script function) are for the AI units, that the not use. ;)
All in all are all functions from the Campaign from EE2 and EE2x available and work, so that end-user can create complex Scenarios, i think.
But that .ies script system are not very user-friendly and that make it very frustrated for not computer science user... :ugeek:

User avatar
Leader
Dr.MonaLisa
Posts: 7003
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 11:21
Location: Poland

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by Leader » 23 Oct 2017, 22:39

The time of day function from the .ies script doesn't work. It only changes some lighting settings which are not even used on the normal EE2.
I added the Cycle Time of day to my scenarios using some memory hacking. It seems to work fine, but the whole procedure if very complicated.

About the HasTextBeenTyped, I think you asked the same earlier: viewtopic.php?p=23689#p23689
Basically it won't work.

"Special forces" button works for something, but I don't remember for what now :( I remember it had to be used for some script to work.

Loewenherz
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Sep 2017, 17:26
Location: Germany

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by Loewenherz » 24 Oct 2017, 18:20

Hi Mona,
Leader wrote:
23 Oct 2017, 22:39
The time of day function from the .ies script doesn't work. It only changes some lighting settings which are not even used on the normal EE2.
I added the Cycle Time of day to my scenarios using some memory hacking. It seems to work fine, but the whole procedure if very complicated.
Seems too complicated for me. :?
Leader wrote:
23 Oct 2017, 22:39
About the HasTextBeenTyped, I think you asked the same earlier: viewtopic.php?p=23689#p23689
Basically it won't work.
I try everything :mrgreen: , before i let it be, but i leave it in this case.
Leader wrote:
23 Oct 2017, 22:39
"Secial forces" button works for something, but I don't remember for what now :( I remember it had to be used for some script to work.
i have shown in the scripting Doc. Special forces is only for that, that the AI dont use the Unit.

Greeting Loewenherz

User avatar
calsch03
Posts: 14
Joined: 04 Dec 2015, 11:24
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Empire Earth 2 Map making - MP - .ies Scripting

Post by calsch03 » 23 Nov 2017, 14:27

Hi,

I have been trying to figure out how scripting works in this game, but there is one thing i can't figure out on my own. I want to make a mission status bar like this one: https://prnt.sc/he87cr.

The problem is that the file: "EE2 SCRIPTING.doc" only describes how to make a status screen with text database strings, but when I alter the text database I can't join any multiplayer games anymore.

So my question is: Is it possible to make a mission screen without editing the text database?

My current code:

Code: Select all

//Wave counter
	StartFormat("txt_maasai_waveinfo");
	FormatInt("WAVECOUNTER", cWavecouterdisplay);
	FormatInt("MAXWAVE", 75);
	PrintFormattedMissionStatusString(iWaveinfo);
	ShowMissionStatusString(iWaveinfo, true);

Post Reply