Page 1 of 1

Bug - units are stuck on bridges

Posted: 09 Oct 2020, 16:57
by Bogdan
Hello) Recently I've encountered a strange bug which I haven't seen before: units are stuck in the middle of a bridge and don't go forward or backward. This issue occurs spontaneously in original EE2 scenarios after 20-30 minutes of playing (epochs and units can also be different). And that's strange, because I don't remember anything like that not so long ago :(
Spoiler
Bug.jpg
Bug.jpg (564.8 KiB) Viewed 97 times
May be one of the recent monthly updates might cause the problem

Re: Bug - units are stuck on bridges

Posted: 09 Oct 2020, 22:44
by Dr.MonaLisa
Blaming updates for things like this was actually described here: viewtopic.php?p=25548#p25548

There were never changes applied to units pathing or things like this. if something was done, then would be listen on the changes log.

Regarding this "bug", I remember it always happening from time to time. The best solution is always building bridges by moving the road over the river. Then the terrain on sides of the bridge gets "changed" for better units pathing.

Re: Bug - units are stuck on bridges

Posted: 10 Oct 2020, 11:49
by Bogdan
May be that's the game's fault, I'm not arguing. You're right it should had got some bug fixes. My favorite bug is M18 Hellcat rotating its turret like crazy while shooting) Actually, that's the reason I never produce them, 'cause it hurt my eyes a little bit))
Regarding these lagging bridges — thank you for the advice. Recently thanks to you I've discovered the way do destroy bridges (such a shock for me, playing EE2 for a decade), so the problem is insignificant now.

Re: Bug - units are stuck on bridges

Posted: 10 Oct 2020, 12:00
by Dr.MonaLisa
I wonder if it's only M18 suffering this bug, or also other units? Could be that some animation or turret point is missing. If I don't forget I'll check it.

Re: Bug - units are stuck on bridges

Posted: 10 Oct 2020, 12:07
by Bogdan
Never seen wrong animation of other units (at least, in original EE2). M18 is totally unique here

Re: Bug - units are stuck on bridges

Posted: 20 Oct 2020, 16:57
by Dr.MonaLisa
WTF
Screenshot 2020-10-20 165640.png
Screenshot 2020-10-20 165640.png (75.99 KiB) Viewed 61 times

Re: Bug - units are stuck on bridges

Posted: 20 Oct 2020, 18:13
by Bogdan
Lol, you found an easter egg :lol:

Re: Bug - units are stuck on bridges

Posted: 20 Oct 2020, 18:27
by Dr.MonaLisa
Doesn't seem like it's the problem though. It's something in DDF :/

EDIT:
Egyptian tank has the same bug. Can you confirm it, please?

Added after 1 hour 20 minutes 47 seconds:
OK, bug fixed as for 1.5.8 release.