Page 1 of 1

ForceWarrior no fire sound

Posted: 05 May 2020, 00:53
by kryso00
How to fix ForceWarrior no fire sound?

Re: ForceWarrior no fire sound

Posted: 05 May 2020, 08:41
by Dr.MonaLisa
Could you show a screenshot what unit do you exactly mean?

Re: ForceWarrior no fire sound

Posted: 05 May 2020, 12:33
by kryso00
Here are screenshots. I will add that when another player uses these units, the sound is. When I build them and attack, the sound of the shot is gone. The problem is i think only in Art of Supremacy expansion.

Re: ForceWarrior no fire sound

Posted: 05 May 2020, 13:07
by Dr.MonaLisa
Thanks for the clarification! I suspected it's about this unit, but wanted to confirm.

I've done a quick test. It seems like the sounds stops when the unit is upgraded to Elite.
I thought it could be caused by too many new sounds in the database file, after the latest Multiplayer taunts updates, but it seems like the same problem happens on AOS 1.0 (without any patches).

It can be tested by clicking:
empireearth2://decode-downloader-aos-sa ... hp?id=1036
Spoiler
ForceWarriorNoSoundTestAOS1.0.sav
(1.31 MiB) Downloaded 192 times
Then loading file "ForceWarriorNoSoundTestAOS1.0.sav" from the menu.

Did you maybe notice if a similar problem happens with any other unit?

Re: ForceWarrior no fire sound

Posted: 05 May 2020, 13:30
by kryso00
I didn't notice the problem with other units. Only with this one. Is there any way to fix this problem?

Re: ForceWarrior no fire sound

Posted: 05 May 2020, 15:04
by Dr.MonaLisa
Yes, it seems to be a bug in the .ddf file on AOS.
Seems like developers added a different attacking animation for Elite Objective Force Warriors, but forgot to add the "PLAY_SOUND" TextKey to it:

My fix:
Before:

Code: Select all

// elite version
UnitModel HeavyInfantry1_15e
{
	Parent		= HeavyInfantry1_15v
	States 		= [
		{ 	StateName = Attack1	AnimName = sh_ObjectiveForceWarrior_e_attack01.kf 
		}
		{	StateName = Pack	AnimName = sh_ObjectiveForceWarrior_e_pack01.kf
		}
		{	StateName = Unpack	AnimName = sh_ObjectiveForceWarrior_e_unpack01.kf
		}
			]
}
After:

Code: Select all

// elite version. 05.05.2020, modified by Dr.MonaLisa to add a fix for missing attack sound: https://forum.ee2.eu/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=5343
UnitModel HeavyInfantry1_15e
{
	Parent		= HeavyInfantry1_15v
	States 		= [
		{ 	StateName = Attack1	AnimName = sh_ObjectiveForceWarrior_e_attack01.kf 
			TextKeys = [
			{ Name = PLAY_SOUND Data = fx_battle_objforce_fire KeyTime = 0.16 }
			]
		}
		{	StateName = Pack	AnimName = sh_ObjectiveForceWarrior_e_pack01.kf
		}
		{	StateName = Unpack	AnimName = sh_ObjectiveForceWarrior_e_unpack01.kf
		}
			]
}
It should be fine after the next Minor Update of UP1.5 (157036). Most likely it will be released in May.

If you would like to test the fix now, you can download this file:
//Removed

And paste to "zips_ee2x" folder in your EE2 installation directory. It will ask you to overwrite an existing file.

Please let me know how it works after you test it.

Thanks.

Added after 1 hour 23 minutes 58 seconds:
It seems like the problem is greater than that. Many other Elite-upgraded units are affected by this bug: "Elite Objective Force Warrior" (epoch 15), "Elite Lancer" (epoch 8), "Elite Imperial Lancer" (epoch 10), "Elite Horse Archer" (epoch 6), "Elite Carabineer" (epoch 8), "Dragoon" (epoch 10), "Elite Mameluke" (epoch 6, Babylonian).

It will be fine after the next Minor Update.

Re: ForceWarrior no fire sound

Posted: 05 May 2020, 16:24
by kryso00
I have changed the file and it now works even when the unit is at the elite level